Skip to content

Williams wounderfull 29er

March 12, 2011

Well I must admit to leading a double life for the lead into this story.

I work a full-time job as a theatre technician (basically I run the back stage of the Sydney theatre),  In this job I meet a lot of different  people, we get all sorts come through our venue from total amateur shows to big productions with a lot of big name actors in them.

Truth be told I don’t have much time for most of them they are just part of my job and some of them have egos so large I’m some times surprised they can fit  them selves through the doors  (and we have some big doors at work).

So when the boss told me we where going to have William Hurt with us on stage for out next production I was curious to see what sort of person he was.

Well it turns out that some times in life you meet some one who is truly special. I don’t find many people who I would say that about, but William is defiantly one of them.

Long story short I found William to be extremely open and down to earth and I could see he was not having a great time on the show we where working on so I took upon my self to break up his day with a chat and a laugh when I saw him at work.

I had a feeling that William might have been a bike person but I didn’t want to seem as if I was trying to sell him something as I’m sure he would get hit up by people trying to sell stuff all the time so I just kept out chats away from bikes.

Any way I was on my way to work  listening to the radio and they started talking about the show we where working on  and the DJ started talking about William Hurt and what he had been up to since he arrived here.  Turns out one of the first things he had done was to go and purchase a bike from Tokyo bikes in Surry hills.

So that night at work I asked him about his bike and told him I built frames. He asked to come up and have a look at the work shop I have set up at work (I am very lucky in this regard as my boss is a top bloke and has no problem with me working on bikes if there is nothing happening around the building, so I have a very nice little work shop set up in the theater) luckily I had two frames that had just come back from the painters.

Well after a very short time William was complementing my work and  saying he wanted a bike built, I didn’t really take him seriously at first as he had literally been in the work shop 5 min.  He must have seen what I was thinking so as he turned to me and said “I’m serious I want you to build me a bike” and to reinforce this he came up later to tell me again to seal it with a hand shake.

Well this threw me  into gear as the production was only in town for another 3 weeks.  After talking to William about what sort of bike he was looking for and looking over his body shape I had him sent to Steve Hog at cycle fit to get the full fit up treatment.

Luck was on my side here as Steve is usually 2-3 months booked out, but he had a spot the following Mon, score..

Well over the next few weeks I worked out the spec of the bike with William and as you can see from the photos there was very little spared, this thing is bling as bling .

William went back home and I set to work creating his bike I really wanted this to be something special.

To this end I designed and  had some custom tips cut to fit his frame geo and to house the rohloff  .Then I used a lovely set of Columbus fast back single bend chain stays, I have had them sitting in my tubes for a while as I can’t get them any more I was waiting for a special build to put them into and this was the perfect one.

Then there was the chain ring This is my Karma ring I designed this shape when I was first learning to use auto cad but as it was such a complex pattern I held of getting it cut .Then when I met William I knew he was the perfect candidate for the Karma ring, William is a very spiritual person who practices meditation and holds strong beliefs based around it. my Karma ring is based on an Indian Mandala which is used to focus the meditation practice, perfect for the bike and the man. to this end William asked if I could not put my skull logo on the head badge as he doesn’t like to celebrated death, no problem. Then it was the small details that really finish of the build like in laying the paint in the head tube reinforcement rings and hand painting the ti and soldered spokes (this looks really cool when the wheel is spinning as you get a funky little band of color in the wheel).

After talking through the components and working out what forks we where going with (rock shox Reba RLT TI ) but we had them painted to match the frame with my logo running up the front, sweet

the rest of the build is all the usual high end suspects Thomson/king/salsa/Easton/middleburn/hope/mavic .

This has been a great build for a really nice person and I feel very lucky to have met William and to have had the opportunity to build something for him.

Enjoy your new ride William may she bring you many years of good Karma.

Stay upright Tarn.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

